Home » Nigeria Launches Scholarship and Bursary Awards for Tertiary Institutions

Nigeria Launches Scholarship and Bursary Awards for Tertiary Institutions

Federal Ministry of Education Opens Applications for 2023/2024 Session Scholarship

by Ikeoluwa Juliana Ogungbangbe

The Federal Ministry of Education in Nigeria has recently announced the opening of applications for the 2023/2024 Nigerian Scholarship Award (NSA) and Education Bursary Award (EBA), targeted at students enrolled in the nation’s public tertiary institutions. This initiative is designed to support eligible and motivated candidates pursuing their educational goals at various levels, including undergraduate, postgraduate, Higher National Diploma (HND), and National Certificate of Education (NCE) programs.

Outlined by Didi Walson-Jack, the ministry’s permanent secretary, the announcement specifies that postgraduate applicants must hold a first degree with at least a second class honours in the upper division to qualify. Undergraduate candidates, as well as those pursuing HND and NCE, are required to be full-time students, registered in their second year or higher at federal or state universities, polytechnics, monotechnics, or colleges of education.

A notable condition for undergraduate scholarship applicants, inclusive of individuals with disabilities, is the attainment of a minimum 4.0 Cumulative Grade Point Aggregate (CGPA) on a 5-point scale, or a 5.0 on a 7-point scale, or its equivalent. For NCE and HND applicants, a CGPA of 3.5 and above on a 4.0 scale is mandated. The ministry also emphasizes that any form of double entries will result in disqualification.

To facilitate a smooth application process, students are advised to attach several essential documents, including their letter of admission, CGPA result, national identity number, and state of origin certificate. The registration portal, set to be accessible from Tuesday, April 2, to Monday, May 13, 2024, invites applications across a broad spectrum of degree courses. These range from Science and Technology, Medicine and Medical Sciences, to Education, Agriculture, Liberal Arts/Social/Management Sciences, Entrepreneurial Studies, Information and Communication Technology, Environmental Sciences, and Law.

Candidates are instructed to carefully study the guidelines, complete the form online, and procure a printed copy for their records. The criteria for the bursary award further stipulate that applicants must be registered students studying education in Nigerian colleges of education and universities, including those with disabilities, and must be in their second year or above. However, it’s important to note that individuals already benefiting from any subsisting scholarship are ineligible for the bursary award.

The awards, tenable exclusively within Nigeria, will commence from the beginning of the academic session. Recipients are barred from holding any other award concurrently or changing their course or institution while enjoying the scholarship or bursary benefits.

You may also like

logo white

Born from an unwavering commitment to the nation’s progress, we stand as an emblem of independent journalism dedicated to serving the interests of progressive Nigerians from every corner of our diverse and vibrant country.

© 2024 The Nigerian Patriot. All Rights Reserved.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com